Sign In   Register

Topic

Another engine not running well question, baffling, very. 9 months 3 weeks ago #203183

Hey all, I'm new to this great forum, an amazing resource of experience here. This is my first query, second post. See my intro at Welcome.

Since I got my MGF Mark1 1997 registered I've travelled about 3000 km. The last 400 km or so it developed an inconsistent rough idle or intermittent miss, more noticeable with the A/C running. However, upon cold start it always idled beautifully, when warmed inconsistent rough idle would develop.

When driving in 1st or 2nd under very slight acceleration, an infrequent brief fraction of power loss would occasionally occur. Also, cruising under load, say a hill in 5th accelerating sudden power loss would occur, where 4th gear would need to be engaged with less peddle higher revs to have the engine run normally. Fast acceleration high revs through1st to 4th gear, that power loss may or may not occur. The power loss has always been intermittent throughout that 400 km driving. Until yesterday!

I thought the problem might be plugs or leads. Start with low cost and problem solve along the way with each change. So yesterday I installed new plugs and leads. When engine warmed the idling actually became worse, consistently, than it was before. So, I put the old plugs and leads back in, no change. Again put the new plugs and leads back in, no change. I wondered if when I was pulling and pushing plugs from and into the distributor cap it may have worsened a fault already there, since that was the only other component I'd handled. I don't have a spare distributor to replace to problem solve the issue.

I took the car for a drive down the road and it was frequently intermittently losing power, stalling, shuddering, through all gears. When I stopped to turn around and return home the engine stalled, it stated ok but driving back home was just as terrible.