Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Removing & refitting the bottom pulley nut 6 years 3 months ago #183857

Hi, I'm new to T-Bar, and about to replace the cambelt on my 2009 TF (N-series engine, 14.5k miles).

The Rimmer Bros "how-to" video suggests using an air gun to remove the bottom pulley nut and I assume they use the same method to re-tighten it. I have a fairly comprehensive toolkit but I don't have an airgun or a flywheel locking tool.

Before searching for the locking tool, I thought I would ask if anyone had any other suggestions and/or advice. Many thanks if you do.
Steve G

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Removing & refitting the bottom pulley nut 6 years 3 months ago #183859

Hi Steve .
The crank pulley nut on all the K series engines I worked on were a really bitch to undo . In a workshop with all the tools at my desposal I found the impact gun and socket would undo some but not all and sometimes had to resort to Snap On's longest breaker bar to crack the buggers! On a two post ramp it felt as though I was going to pull the car off the ramp . It would depend if the N series is assembled by technicians with arms like The Mad Muller on steroids as to how tight their pulley nuts are . Have a look at the How to's on the forum.
Without a tool to lock the crank I think you will find it a struggle .
Regards John .

Removing & refitting the bottom pulley nut 6 years 3 months ago #183860

I have to agree with john.

I have done the job three times, the second time because I did not tighten the pulley bolt up enough !!

You can try it in gear with wheels on ground and brakes applied, but there is so much give and twist in all the components that you think something will break!

Spend the money on a crank locking tool (like I should have done first time) and save some real heart ache.

The bolt is really tight, and even then a long breaker bar (3-5 foot) will be needed.

Removing & refitting the bottom pulley nut 6 years 3 months ago #183861