Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

My worst nightmare has come true 6 years 11 months ago #178103

Hi all,
Bought a nice MG TF in March, £800 and in good nick.
Had a few patches of 'surface' rust in the arches and sills, so thought I would combat it myself today (not in visible areas so quality of job not massively important)

I started to angle grind the surface rust on the sill and then all my fears came true. I hate cars.

Then it didnt end there, the steel behind the patch was just powder. (see attached)

Now I don't know what to do. I'm a student so I don't have masses of money or resources. Do they do patches for just the rear of the sill or only the whole thing? Is there special stonechip paint required there?
I just feel sick.
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: Leigh Ping

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by L354UGE.

My worst nightmare has come true 6 years 11 months ago #178104

Don't panic.

A competent garage will be able to patch that.

Normal paint is required only but I'd suggest some wax sprayed into the sill to stop it recurring.

WHALE OIL BEEF HOOKED

(THE ARTIST FORMERLY KNOWN AS ANDY THE TYRE MAN)

My worst nightmare has come true 6 years 11 months ago #178105

Welcom by the way.

WHALE OIL BEEF HOOKED

(THE ARTIST FORMERLY KNOWN AS ANDY THE TYRE MAN)

My worst nightmare has come true 6 years 11 months ago #178106

Ouch

Can you weld? Do you have any friends who can?

I am afraid this is the only answer to the problem.

You do not need a repair panel for this, just some steel sheet (I use an old door skin for my repairs).

Correct way is to cut out the rust, and weld in a new section, however the quick way is to "patch" over the damage, but this last resort stuff.

Ask at your local independent garage if they can do welding, or know anyone who can help.

If it is out of sight, then this will keep costs down, as it is the re-finishing/painting that will be most expensive.

Peter