Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Jacking the MGF 13 years 3 months ago #20794

This is probably old hat to all of you MGF/TF old hands but to a rookie like me this is new territory.
All of my previous MGs (MGA, MGB, Magnette) had nice sturdy crossmembers at the front and solid rear axles to place a trolley jack under.
Where are the best places to jack up an MGF? The thought of jacking under the body scares the liver out of me, and I only intend to use the factory jack for roadside emergencies.
Also, does anyone find a set of ramps useful?

Cheers,
Rich

BTW: My MGF is now in Canada and on the train to me here on the West Coast, and I am getting very, very excited. :woohoo:
My wife has taken to buying me bottles of rum to keep me sedated! :side:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re: Jacking the MGF 13 years 3 months ago #20795

I'm a bit of a rookie still myself - so I will be interested in the answer too.

Great news about the car :)

When is it due to arrive?

Re: Jacking the MGF 13 years 3 months ago #20797

Great news that the F is getting closer, keep taking the sedation!!! :silly:

About Jacking : there are reinforced areas front and rear on the cills (where the standard jack is used) that can be used with a trolley jack, there are also central points front and rear on the subframes for jacking, all shown in the workshop manual (which can be downloaded from this forum)
I prefer to use axle stands rather than ramps, especially if you want to remove the wheels.

i always use a bit of wood on the jack platform to protect the jacking point, or you can get a jack with a rubber pad already fitted.

Please dont jack anywhere else other than the approved points.

Hope this all helps :whistle:
The following user(s) said Thank You: psymon

Re: Jacking the MGF 13 years 3 months ago #20800