Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Input appreciated 6 years 2 months ago #184216

• John and Sue's Avatar Topic Author
  • John and Sue
  • Master MGer
  • Master MGer
  • 06 TF 135. One of the last from Longbridge.
After the past eight years in a training delivery role within the power industry, following 30 odd years working in power stations as an ops engineer/ manager, I was resigned to doing this until retirement. However, an opportunity has arisen back within the walls of a power station. A big 'un. And a senior position.

The quandary is this: I currently have a company Volvo, which will obviously go if I get the new position, which despite having many perks, does not include a car. The new position is around 70 miles up the M1 and I intend to commute rather than uproot.

So, my friends: the choice for a potentially high mileage commute car: having had some quality cars in the past: practically and financially this won't be an option.

Do I go for a late model euro: Ford, Peugeot, or a new warranted Pacific rim snotter: Kia... or Easten Euro like a Daewoo?

Input appreciated.
It will be all right in the end. If it isn't all right yet, then it is not yet the end..

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Input appreciated 6 years 2 months ago #184218

Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: Leigh Ping

Input appreciated 6 years 2 months ago #184219

I have got a 67 plate Honda CRV 1.6 EX twin turbo diesel automatic, its a real mile muncher, comfortable, all the toys, so easy to drive and intelligent 4x4 (only 4 wheel drive when required), the model has been around in current form for last 5 years so some reasonably priced examples can be sought with current accessories, also build quality is second to none, this is my second Honda the last doing 140K (2008 Civic 1.8 Petrol) and still going strong, failed its last MOT on a drop link bush and that was its first fail ever, hence Honda have my vote.
The following user(s) said Thank You: John and Sue