Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

TF Play in new rear bottom shock absorber bush 8 years 3 days ago #167625

I'm fairly new to the TF and am puzzled. This must be a common problem but I cannot find anything to help my concern.

I have an advisory for play in the lower bush on the right-hand rear shock absorber. I've bought new shocks and bolts but the fit is terrible. The bush is about 13mm in diameter but the bolt is less than 12mm in diameter. That is 1mm or more of free play.

I know that this will all be done up tight but won't it tend to work loose and move about once the car starts going over bumps? I would have expected the bolt to be a snug fit in the bush. My local mechanic agrees with me.

I spoke to the supplier of the bolt and shock absorber and they say that this play is normal.

Is it? Am I worrying unnecessarily? Or does it need packing out in some way?

Please can anyone help or advise?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

TF Play in new rear bottom shock absorber bush 8 years 2 days ago #167664

I have no experience of the TF setup, and I've not heard this mentioned before, but it would be logical for the inner sleeve of the bush to be a snug fit on the bolt. And as the bottom bushes on the TF setup don't seem to be replaceable(nb) unlike the F, it would be sensible to source an inner sleeve with less play..

Having said that, I would not be surprised by a mismatch on the TF as the F suffers from an inner sleeve several mm too long allowing the bottom of the damper to move around! :bang:

(nb) I've just checked and you can now get replacement poly bushes for the TF damper bottom bush Part No.: RNF100090LPB Then it would be a case of obtaining a properly sized steel sleeve.
David
:shrug:
The following user(s) said Thank You: BruceTF135

Last edit: Post by David Aiketgate.

TF Play in new rear bottom shock absorber bush 8 years 2 days ago #167672

Thanks for the help. I'm happy to be your 18000th post!