Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Ere me Ansomes , another from Cornwall dreckly 8 years 1 week ago #167996

Hi All

I`ve had two MGF`s now for nearly 3 years, been using your how-to guides quite a lot, thought it was time I signed up.

I`ve always been a Landrover driver (owned a series 2 for about 30yrs), bought it before I could drive for £100 with a 45 gallon drum of diesel.
But it did need a LOT of work.
Put another landrover back on the road for my mother, then wanted something different different & bought a Chevrolet C15 truck.
Yep, definitely different. Was a major task, took about 5 years just to put it on the road again.
Just as well I am a welder/fabricator (had to build a new rear body & tool box, front wings, door tops etc.etc.).
It`s fun to drive, has a crash box & a center throttle powered by a straight 6 3500cc petrol lump.
After purchase in 1989

Selling poppies last year.

Owned 2 Discoveries as well (first eventually dissolved, despite major welding, 2nd is less rusty, hopefully).

Always referred to sports cars as "scateboards" & a bit pointless.

Yeah, I was wrong, I confess.

My missus used to have a soft-top vitara & loved it. She mentioned one day that she would love a convertible.
Off to Ebay, up came ridiculously cheap MGF`s.
Everyone moaning about head gaskets, however, looking elsewhere EVERYONE who had owned one loved them.
Hmmm. More research methinks. Cheap to run, cheap to insure, cheap parts, cheap to buy.

Anyway bought one for the missus, needed a wing, rear window & a bit of a repaint & turned out to be a VVC.
WOW!, what an eye opener. :omg: Fantastic little car!, why aren`t more people snapping these up?
One MAJOR fault though, she named it "Baby" & I was never, ever allowed to drive it. :nonod:

So, sod it, I went out & bought another one :woohoo: