Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Driver Door 9 years 3 months ago #155560

Hi Guys and Gals,
I'm Steve and for a couple of years I've been fiddling about with MGF's.
My first was a VVC 1998 which had been on someone's drive for 18 months which had inner tyre wear so replaced wheel bearings hubs discs shocks.
As a drummer I''ve always had estate cars and vans but now I'm into the odd track day and blatting so swapped that for a 160 TF.
I've just put a barn find Abingdon back on the road too which gives me an opportunity to service my Tahiti blue 160 TF Trophy.
Seeing as the weather is so damp I've borrowed a space in an air-conditioned garage just in time too as it turned out as the drivers door will now not open on the key or with the fob.
I have a spare key and 2 fobs which both lift the door buttons and activate the alarm and super lock it but neither inner nor outer handle will pop the lock.
I've pulled the door card out and squirted WD40 into the lock and disconnected the battery.
I've contacted Technozen and ordered a spare lock. Any other ideas short of an air chisel?

Attachments:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by David Aiketgate.

Driver Door 9 years 3 months ago #155561

Have a look HERE
The following user(s) said Thank You: crestweed

Driver Door 9 years 3 months ago #155564

If you have the door card off, try pulling the connecting rods from both door handles(inner and outer). If the rods are pulling the levers on the door lock then the lock internals will be broken. if you can operate the lock by pulling the rods, then they may just need a bit of 'adjustment'.
David
:shrug:

Driver Door (Jammed) 9 years 3 months ago #155565

That looks like as far as I've got David. I can see the rods moving a seesaw white plastic lever to it's full extent so as feared the internals have 'busted'. Some say TF locks are inferior to the F. Do you think that is true?

Driver Door (Jammed) 9 years 3 months ago #155566