Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Tyre Choice 7 years 10 months ago #169164

Hi

Have just been able to start driving again after surgery on my shoulder,seems that I have missed all the good weather already !
Took my 04 MG TF 135 (16 " Alloys and 4 pot brakes)for a blast on a dual carriage way in the rain,it was quite hairy. Since I have had the car I have not done many miles in it,and have mainly used it for B roads in the dry.
As a Vauxhall car salesman I am used to driving new modern cars, so maybe I am expecting to much.
When hitting a pot hole or bump at speed the car tends to lurch about, and seems very unstable at 70+ speeds.Took the car to work for MOT today,flew through.
It was given a good going over on the shaker plate,no play could be found any where on the front end,the rear seemed to check out ok as well.
It has Avon ZZ3 215/40 ZR 16 86 W on the rear, and Evergreen EH23 195/45R 16 W on the front.When it was on the shaker plate there was a lot of sidewall flex in the evergreen tyres,I know that they are not on the list of recommended tyres,but we sell them at work and they are not a bad tyre.(these were on car when bought).Both sets are fairly new with 6 -7 mm all round.
I know the Avons will be stiff side walls,but I cant get ZZ3 any more,and they never made the size for the front.
The car is just used as a bit of fun and to keep my hand in in looking after it,so I don't want to buy 4 tyres.
What do you think would be the best match to put on the front to match the ZZ3's I am looking at Avon ZV 7,Toyo TR 1 (or will I have a problem depending on compound) Falkens or Nexan N Fera SU1.
To match I think that they will have to have stiff sidewalls like the ZZ3.
Does any one have any experience with these tyre combinations?
I am also finding the suspension very bone shaking,thinking about fitting the LE 500 set up,has any one fitted to their TF ? Wondered it it made much of a difference.
Any comments or help would be appreciated .