Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

I have a water leak-water pump? 14 years 3 months ago #9148

Just going over the new 'F' today and got as far as checking the levels only to find the expansion tank empty and a pool of water under the car! From what I can see and guess, I think it is the water pump. Water is running and dropping off the sump plug and after removing the offside arch cover I can see seeping around the lower pulley housing.

When I test drove it the car was fine, no signs of leakage and no water loss. Seems to be just bad luck as you cannot hide a leaky pump.

My question is, how the hell do you change the pump? I have looked and can see no real access to the front end of the engine. As you can guess I do not have a manual as yet! I would also like to get a second opinion as I am new to the 4 pot k-series, I only know the KV6.

Great start to 'F' ownership! :shake:

Right I'm off out to take the dogs out for a run in my broken Discovery! I'll catch up later.
2000 MGF 1.8i SE Wedgewood
2002 MG ZS200 Trophy Blue
1999 Land Rover Discovery series 2 TD5

Please Log in to join the conversation.

I have a water leak-water pump? 14 years 3 months ago #9150

It's a cam cover off Timing belt off job I'm afraid.

Are you certain that it's not coming from anywhere above?

I'll post a How to change the water pump when photobucket stops messing about!

David
:shrug:

I have a water leak-water pump? 14 years 3 months ago #9153

Not sure if it is from anywhere else as viewing is difficult, water is coming out slowly when engine off and speeds up when engine running.

Having never worked on an 'F' how do I gain access to said parts? I guess it would be adviseable to purchase a Haynes? I'm not one to always need instructions but in this case to pick the brains of those that know would be the ideal route.

I am guessing that we had better not use the car until it can be rectified? Not wanting hgf!

I have a water leak-water pump? 14 years 3 months ago #9154