Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

AP brake pads 12 years 1 month ago #42248

Not seen this before - not how I put the pads in but then I'm not a professional mechanic unlike the person who did it

is this ok or should I replace them? - wouldn't have thought that reducing the contact area was a good thing. :nonod:

The TF only has done about 10 miles since the service.

Life is its own answer, accept it and enjoy it day by day. Live as well as possible, expect no more." - Ray Bradbury, The Martian Chronicles ...

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re: AP brake pads 12 years 1 month ago #42251

I've done this before to cure juddering or squealing brakes, but unless you were complaining about same, I don't know why someone would do that. They seem to have taken quite a chunk of contact area away.:shrug:
David
:shrug:

Re: AP brake pads 12 years 1 month ago #42257

Hi David

it was just part of a routine service for which i supplied the parts. The pads are a tight fit in one of the calipers but that only needs the end of the backing plate grinding down slightly.

Would you replace them - it looks like I've lost about a third of the contact area when you see the pads in real life.

Life is its own answer, accept it and enjoy it day by day. Live as well as possible, expect no more." - Ray Bradbury, The Martian Chronicles ...

Re: AP brake pads 12 years 1 month ago #42259

Really your call. If the brakes feel OK then you'll eventually get back to full contact area, but it would be worth asking why it was done.
David
:shrug:

Re: AP brake pads 12 years 1 month ago #42261

Cheers David.
Must admit I didn't understand it. Replacement will have to wait for payday now anyway. Test driving the cooling system later so will assess the brakes then, but likely to replace them for peace of mind if nothing else.

Re: AP brake pads 12 years 1 month ago #42285