Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Hello 7 years 9 months ago #170588

Hello all, a quick intro about my self and my MGF.
I am a recently retired engineer who has varied interest's one of which is fixing up car's. Now that I have some time I happened upon a MGF Trophy 160 and bought it off a chap in North Wales, it was pretty rough but had a MOT (just) and was as a runner. Unfortunately I ended up towing it home as it broke down only 2 miles into my 400 mile journey home.
Any way after a lot of TLC I eventually sorted it all out and ended up with a reasonable car. The VVC mechanism was noisy and sounded like a tractor which really annoyed me so I decided on an engine rebuild with a difference by fitting a turbo

I now have a nice quiet engine with the power and some of the VVC but with bucket load's of torque at sensible rev's. I have not rolling roaded it yet but it certainly feel's good on the road and I guess must be around 200 BHP which is good for a small car.
I eventually ended up rebuilding the front and rear end's and powdered coated the subframe's etc. and the bottom of the car looks better than the top.
Other mod's include TF bracing bar's, remote Rover 75 thermostat at the rad, boost gauge, sparko pedal's, Stainless steel pipes, near side air scoop and de cat exhaust.
I have just completed a run to Monaco and back which really stretched it's leg's and was great fun.

Many thank's.
Paul.
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: Leigh Ping

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Hello 7 years 9 months ago #170591

Hi Paul and welcome to The-T-Bar

Great looking car.

No many F/TF's with a turbo due to the lack of space, does the turbo come from a K series 1.8 ZT 'T' also did you have to change to the shorter (- 1mm) con rods to reduce the compression ratio or does it run OK without pre-ignition/pinking with standard rods?

Brian.

160 turbo 7 years 9 months ago #170593