Sign In   Register

Topic

Project Riveria 11 years 1 month ago #107575

Hi All

So this is it - the MG F spring project - code name Riveria - Why ? Well since the F is now sitting on the drive in sunny Devon on the English Riveria then it seemed a reasonable code word - Pretty sure that at some time most people's have taken a trip down to Torbay- see there has been an organsied run down here - see pic as a reminder

The Mission - To give an older standard 1.6 some TLC and a few upgrades to hopefully bring her up to compare against the top of the range vvc spec -foregoing the engine replacement, as I am not that good at mechanics :nonod: s

The Objective - To complete the job (by 1st June) at half the price of the cost of car purchase - so I have the grand total of £225 to spend - so I can't go too far to the Dark Side !

Known issues at purchase
1) Rust spots and paint bubbles around drivers wings, arches and on air intakes
2) MOT advisory - track rod end ball joints and upper ball joints have slight play
3) Exhaust corroded
4) Needs a real good clean up
5) Seats normal wear and tear - drivers seat the worst - cloth so let's get leather !!

For those of you that are interested. I will try and give updates of progress with commentary and pictures, list of ebay bargins and what surprises lay in store, as I try to meet the challenge :drive:

Here is a few pics of the F as shown on ebay as a "before" snapshot.....

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by MrOrange. Reason: Delete dup pic

Project Riveria 11 years 1 month ago #107577

Good Luck..........look forward to the posts :yesnod:

Project Riveria 11 years 1 month ago #107739

So here is the list of items ready for the off - most from good old ebay
1) Cream leather seats - £50
2) Matching door cards - £10
3) Leather dye - cream £7 - it is gong to need it !!
4) Pair of wing mirrors - £5
5) Arial - £1.00
6) Replacement Indicator light £17 - :(
7) Replacemnet Ar in Take grills £4