Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Running temperature / cooling fans 11 months 6 days ago #202650

• RMcB's Avatar Topic Author
  • RMcB
  • Apprentice MGer
  • Apprentice MGer
Hi there, I'm a newbie here and as a TF owner. I've introduced myself elsewhere on the forum.

The only TFs that I've driven are my own and a couple of others that I was considering buying, so my knowledge of what they "should" be like is sketchy.

I have driven my TF 135 several small trips and two trips of 60-ish miles and I've never noticed either cooling fan cutting-in. It's been pretty warm here lately, but it's Scotland, so that's been 18-22 degrees ish. The temperature gauges behave exactly as I would hope - up to a little under half way on the coolant temperature gauge after 5 minutes or so, and it stays there solidly for the full time using the car.

Of course, I'm a hypochondriac , and paranoid about the car overheating. The fluid in the expansion tank behaves fine (not up or down when hot). I've tried disconnecting the fan temperature sensor, and the fans burst into life.

However, the engine bay does seem pretty hot to me, and the boot does get fairly warm.

So, Is this behaviour normal, or do I have a problem such as a malfunctioning sensor?

Thanks, Ryan.
The following user(s) said Thank You: MAXTHEDOG

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Running temperature / cooling fans 11 months 6 days ago #202652

For peace of mind its worth checking the cooling fans back and front are working. Search on here for the locations of the sensors that control the fans and bridge or unplug accordingly to check the respective fans are working. Beyond this it's worth adding a low coolant alarm, something that really should have been fitted as standard. DIY fit, not expensive and great for peace of mind
2003 TF 135 sunstorm
The following user(s) said Thank You: MAXTHEDOG

Last edit: Post by Notanumber.

Running temperature / cooling fans 11 months 6 days ago #202656