Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Crimping Pliers 6 years 3 months ago #182661

Deciding that I would do some electrical work on my MG, I needed some crimps. B + Q are selling a nice set of crimping pliers for £3 on clearance. Much better than my cheap, thin, crimpers which don't even line up properly to strip wires etc..

http://www.diy.com/departments/mac-allister-crimping-pliers/954423_BQ.prd
The following user(s) said Thank You: talkingcars

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Crimping Pliers 6 years 3 months ago #182849

Hi .
I am a retired mechanic and for years have used ratchet type crimp plyers . Unfortunately the make of these has rubbed of the handle so I can't tell you what make they are . The advantage with this type of plyers is that they give a professional type of crimp which is very important when doing this type of repair as the plastic coating of crimp terminals can be very hard . You put most of your effort into crushing the plastic and not crimping the terminal . Look on The Bay Of E for ratchet type crimpers unless the BnQ ones are this type .

John

Crimping Pliers 6 years 3 months ago #182850

Hi again . Just looked and the first type on the link for B n Q are not ratchet type but lower down on the same page are . Think they are called Sanity plyers at £ 12 . I don't know what quality they would be but they are the type to go for .

John

Crimping Pliers 6 years 3 months ago #182854

Invalid or non-existent item ID.

Hi again . Just looked and the first type on the link for B n Q are not ratchet type but lower down on the same page are . Think they are called Sanity plyers at £ 12 . I don't know what quality they would be but they are the type to go for .

John

Like John says.

I bought one of these. It seems to work well I must have done 100+ crimps with it.

Crimping Pliers 6 years 3 months ago #182856

• John and Sue
  • Master MGer
  • Master MGer
  • 06 TF 135. One of the last from Longbridge.