Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Oil Light Flickered on then off 1 month 1 week ago #206140

Hi guys. So I bought an MG TF 135 1.8L the other day. in the two hour drive home there was no juddering, knocking etc but a oil light appeared on the dash for a very short period of time (2-3 seconds only) then went off. This happened three times.

I’ve been told it could be the pressure switch but not sure how I’d know which one I need for my car (I’m no mechanic) as well as if I can drive it to a garage to fix it. I’ve idled it and no light has come on again, the oil is clean with a good level too. I’m really not sure what to do. Is there anything else it could be other than the switch just to cover all bases. And what would costs of these be?

The light being faulty isn’t a problem as it stays on on the dashboard before I turn engine on. But it flickered whilst driving so is trying to tell me something.

Thanks in advance for help.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by Padgeyy. Reason: Typo

Oil Light Flickered on then off 1 month 1 week ago #206142

I am a novice when it comes to these cars and am a bit surprised that no one else with experience has not responded.
However for what it is worth here is a suggestion based on a solution to failed reversing lights (there is an electrical connection for the reversing light above the gearbox). When that pair of wires were parted it was seen that they were a bit corroded. After a clean and re connection the reversing light worked fine.
I was surprised that those terminals were “dirty” being where they were ie well out of the way.
So, it might be worth finding the transducer for oil pressure and having a look at the terminals first.

Oil Light Flickered on then off 1 month 1 week ago #206143

Yeah first stop is check for shiity dirty electrical connections and sloppy lose terminals
"Keep calm, relax, focus on the problem & PULL THE BLOODY TRIGGER"