Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Changing Headlights from RHD to LFD 1 year 10 months ago #199361

This may be a question which has been answered many times before but I'm a newbie, so please forgive me.

I need to get my MGF registered in France and that means a headlamp conversion. I think I read somewhere that it's possible to swap the lamps over and turn them upside down. That sounds like nonsense to me but, if it's possible, I save a stash on new lamps.

Any comments would be appreciated.

Thanks

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Changing Headlights from RHD to LFD 1 year 10 months ago #199362

Hey, I’m not sure that would work as the beam pattern is downward facing in both iterations, if you turned them up upside down they’d be pointing in the sky! Also, the fittings wouldn’t work etc.. I think beam benders (the crappy stickers) or some LHD lights are your only option long term

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re:Changing Headlights from RHD to LFD 1 year 10 months ago #199364

Thanks, that's what I thought but I am sure that I read it somewhere!!

Re:Changing Headlights from RHD to LFD 1 year 10 months ago #199376

I believe (ie I read it somewhere) that if you dismantle the headlamps you can reverse the dip direction by putting the internal glass lenses in back to front. I have no practical experience of this but it sounds possible. Certainly worth a try considering the potential saving...

i do know that the beam adapters used for temporarily driving abroad are not acceptable for testing purposes.
David
:shrug:

Last edit: Post by David Aiketgate.

Changing Headlights from RHD to LFD 1 year 10 months ago #199406

That sounds plausible but the beam converters differ markedly from left to right. It might be necessary to swap them between sides as well. I would mark each lens up using an indelible pen. L and R at the top will show all the necessary orientations.

Changing Headlights from RHD to LFD 1 year 10 months ago #199415

Thanks Guys