Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Front Wishbones 9 years 9 months ago #147517

This is my first How To.... so, I know I will have not done it by the book nor the way some of you 'professional' MG'ers would have done. But it worked for me. Also I could not actually find a 'How To' when I wanted to know how to go about it. All I could find was 'drop the sub frame' & 'bolts are made of chocolate & cheese'. Also be aware that the photos are taken on both sides of the car.
I am not a mechanic so I may even use terms & expressions that make perfect sense to me but maybe technically incorrect.

Here we go.

As per any job when you are under the vehicle, use chocks & axle stands.

Before I really got going & actually buying any parts, I checked that all the necessary bolts would loosen.

Now loosen & remove the pinch bolt holding the steering column to the steering rack.

There is a Scrivet in the wheel arch that needs to be removed prior to the subframe being lowered or it will get ripped out!!! Been there, done that.

The bolt holding the front of the wishbone can be removed. You will either need to remove a grommet at the front of the sub or peel away the tape. This will then reveal access to the bolt (19mm)

With a jack supporting the subframe, loosen the three bolts at the rear of the subframe.

Then the two bolts holding the front of the sub need to be removed. On both sides of Rosie one of the captive nuts was loose. If so, as in my case, a 13mm spanner is required.

I thought that at this point, if I lowered the jack then the sub would lower. No. I undid the bolt at the bottom of the front suspension dampner. Making note of the order of spacer, washers etc.

Now the sub lowers when you lower the jack.

This now gives you access to the rear wishbone bolt previously hindered by the chassis.

The more astute will notice from the above picture that I have also unbolted the track-rod end / steering rack from the hub.