Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Mg Tf 1.8 2004 pektron engine cutting off 2 years 4 months ago #197582

Hello, Im trying to learn ems code on MG TF 2004 after programming new fobs to the scu and after I learn EMS code with pscan the engine starts and runs no problem.
Turn off the engine lock unlock with fob the engine will start and will cut out in 1 sec.

Everytime I re-learn the ems the car will run with no problems.

Switch off the engine for a few seconds sqme problem.

Anyone have any idea, should I replace the ecu or the scu.

Thanks

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Mg Tf 1.8 2004 pektron engine cutting off 2 years 4 months ago #197586

Hi Mario5. I'm not an expert but I'm replying because feel your pain.

I assume you're working with new fobs + batteries c/w a new 22 digit (?) authorization code? (Btw do the new fobs need a sticker 'pulling off' to make them work work? I say this because I bought an inspection light recently and found this was why I couldn't get it to work...)

If not it sounds like your immobiliser isn't responding to your fob (since I think the injectors aren't being actuated as part of the process) and this may well be due to the 'curse' of the Pektron scu or more specifically a duff relay (or pair) in the scu. IMO your 2004 TF is well overdue* if those scu relays haven't been checked out, let alone upgraded. I doubt that the scu would need 'replacing' but if you chose to, I think you'd have to program a brand new pair of fobs for the next scu (since I gather used fobs can't be synched with Pektron; only brand new)

In any case, If I was in your position I think googling 'Technozen' would be my first port of call. Sorry I can't be of more help but I bet he'll sort you out very quickly.

*If it's any consolation my 2010 TF's relays were Technozened in Jan '20 and I thought that was 'pushing it'...

Please keep us posted.
The following user(s) said Thank You: sworkscooper