Sign In   Register

Topic

can PScan sync a MEMS3 ecu? 3 years 3 months ago #194871

Newbie here again.

So, I'm aware that PScan can sync a new fob (with its original 21-digit code) to a TF MEMS3 scu and an original fob must be present to 'start things off' so that this original code can be copied.

Is it possible to sync a different (say a re-mapped) ecu to the same scu/fobs in this same way or is this a completely different process (and one that PScan can't do?)

Of course, this 'new' ecu would be a part no that could work when properly synch'd...but can PScan synch it ?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

can PScan sync a MEMS3 ecu? 3 years 3 months ago #194875

The fob is not linked to the MEMS3.

The fob is linked to the Pektron SCU, and then the MEMS3 is linked to the Pektron.

In this respect there are two types of MEMS3.
1. MEMS3 that comes from a 5AS or Pektron car.
2. MEMS3 that comes from an EWS3D car (Rover 75 or 2001 on Freelander 1).

pscan can recode a MEMS3 for 5AS or Pektron, this is referred to as "EMS learning" so yes you can buy a used TF MEMS3 ECU and match it to your TF or move one to a different TF. The alarm/immobiliser will work fine. The only point is that the VIN number coded into the ECU will remain the one from the car that the ECU came from.

Concerning the EWS3D ECUs, pscan has no capability to rematch these. They are permanently linked to the EWS3D immobiliser ECU and so would have to be moved as a matched pair (with keys).

can PScan sync a MEMS3 ecu? 3 years 3 months ago #194878

Wow, what what a complete and informative answer! Absolutely brilliant..:broon:

So just to be a little more specific, I can bolt another 5AS/Pektron MEMS3 TF135 ecu onto my current 5AS/Pektron MEMS3 TF135 and it will start up and drive without needing any further programming?