Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Non Starter 1 year 3 months ago #200996

Well after a few problems, I managed to get the "F" started,

Ticks over and revs up OK.

The problem now is when it is cold it will only start with a "Sniff" of Easy Start, once started and warmed up it will start OK.

Any ideas as to why it does this??

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Non Starter 1 year 3 months ago #201002

I’m no expert and have no experience on a MGTF to really help. However, it does sound a bit like no choke syndrome if it were an MGB.
Based on an ECU I had on a kit car it might be worth testing the cooling water temperature and air temperature sensor..
It is my understanding that an ECU is programmed to make the mixture richer for start-up when the cooling water is cold. It is or at least can be also programmed to enrichen the mixture for an initial number of revolutions of the crankshaft. Presumably that counting is achieved by the crank sensor and that must be working otherwise the whole thing would not run.

Be interesting to know what you find as the solution.

Non Starter 1 year 3 months ago #201005

https://www.dtafast.co.uk/download_files/Manuals/S%20Series%20Manual.pdf
And page 146 and the next few.
Have you always had problems starting from cold? If so it may not be the cooling water sensor but if the problem is new it could be a.failing sensor, the wrong sensor, or resistance in the wiring that is affecting the ECU .
As far as I’m aware the sensor will change its resistance as temperature changes under normal circumstances.
It would seem logical to think that a small variation in resistance somewhere will give the ECU false information and inhibit the start up process.

Non Starter 1 year 3 months ago #201008

Can’t argue with that other than to say that if a vehicle is left standing condensation will build & can alter resistance values, either by tracking across contacts or by corrosion on the contacts.