Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Gear problems 1 year 8 months ago #199530

Hi!

Im brand new to cars and thought the best thing to do would be to start with something easy and cheapness, so for my first car I bought a 2000 MGF, i'm so in love!

So after a week of having her i'm driving down the way and the gears are SUPER hard to move. At one point I have to put my hazards on because I simply cannot shift :( Manage to get her home going in 3rd the whole way and now I have no clue what to do & how to start.

I lifted the old girl up and it looks like the rubber around the ball joint in the gear might have gone, but here is the thing. How do I diagnose my car? I haven't got a clue what stuff should look like, and where I should be looking - so are there any videos or how to's out there that don't just rely on me knowing the names and locations of everything?

FYI I tried to change the gearbox oil and I thought it might be that but I cannot for love nor money get the f*****g bolts out as the previous owner has covered the entire underside in rust prevention paint (i think) and nothing will budge.
I just want to know where and how to start, i'm currently very enthusiastic but have no clue at all!!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Gear problems 1 year 8 months ago #199531

:welcome2:

Right, OK.

There are two cables that connect the gearbox to the gear lever.
First thing to do is to find out if they are still both connected at both ends. You need someone looking under the car at the rear while someone tries to move the gear lever. There are two levers sticking out of the gearbox that actually change the gears and it should be possible to push these in and out by hand.

Is it easier to put it into gear if the engine is off?

Check the level of fluid in the clutch master cylinder under the bonnet.
David
:shrug:

Last edit: Post by David Aiketgate.

Gear problems 1 year 8 months ago #199532

The two cables hinge on the bell crank.
David
Attachments: