Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Sliced the darn fuel line 1 year 9 months ago #199511

Hi all,

In replacing rear shocks, the hex key in the strut centre rounded off, so I went at it with an angle grinder. Worked a charm, new shocks in no problem, sits fine. Issue is, as the space is so tight I nicked a fuel line with the grinder. Thank God I'm still alive!

I'm thinking to chop out a couple of inches and bridge the gap with some rubber line and jubilee clips. This seems doable, though I'm unsure how to drain this line before getting out the cutter.

You can see the line in the top right of the picture - I'm guessing it isn't a return line because a few minutes of idle pissed fuel absolutely everywhere.

Any tips much appreciated, as I've never done this before.

Cheers!
Attachments:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by BIGDRIVER. Reason: Picture attachment

Sliced the darn fuel line 1 year 9 months ago #199513

The green part in the picture is the return pipe. https://rimmerbros.com/Item--i-WJP108200
The green connector seems a puh-fitting, so easy to disconnect, I am not sure where to push it, but I should be easy.
But you need the part attached to that, also seen on the rimmerbro link.
It seems you can only get a complete set of all lines, and you only need one.
I think when you disconnect the fuel line only the content of the return pipe will spill, but have a container at hand to catch the fuel.
You can repair it with a rubber line, but I would prefer to mount a new one, or one from a donor MG.

Sliced the darn fuel line 1 year 9 months ago #199522