Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Engine died and won't restart 5 years 5 months ago #188118

The car - MGF 1.8i Feb 1996 reg, currently about 81000 miles.
The symptoms - a couple of weeks ago, filled the tank at Sainsburys, drove into the carpark and the engine died. Called the breakdown, who fiddled and poked, wondered if it was the fuel pump relay, didn't find anything obvious, but the engine then started and I drove home OK. Next week-end, started the engine, backed out of the garage, and the engine died. Tried again, started and died, and then wouldn't start.
Investigation so far - fuel pump didn't seem to be coming on with the ignition switch so I studied the wiring diagrams and pulled the relay module from below the ECM. Internally applying 12V to each relay made it work, but I wasn't convinced I had the fuel pump circuit working properly perhaps due to something wrong in the ECM. Today I got some croc clip test leads and managed to check out the relay module and found that all four relays are working correctly. Reconnected the units, cranked the engine for a few turns and it started! 30 seconds later it stopped, and now won't re-start.
The nearest expert garage is 40 miles away, so I'd rather fix it here - any ideas? Anyone? Please!?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by michaelcngm.

Engine died and won't restart 5 years 5 months ago #188124

My initial thought is a broken wire, I would check the continuity of the cable between the ECM and the pump.

It is also possible that the pump is starting to fail.

Home to black Alfa Romeo 159 3.2 V6 Q4 ,green MGF VVC and red MG Maestro T16.

MG - the friendly marque.

Engine died and won't restart 5 years 5 months ago #188130

I had a problem with the engine cutting out and not being able to restart, this would happen at random, and of course it would never happen when you had tools handy or were looking for it!
Turned out to be the fuel pump going through it's final death throws.