Sign In   Register

Topic

MG Leather Interior Project Guide. 11 years 7 months ago #65690

A couple of people have commented or asked so here it is, my DIY leather interior project. I wasn't sure if this is a how to or a project post so I'll stick it here and add as much info as I can. I'll put it all up tonight but it will be in bits due to picture limits. Bare with me...

Like most of you I had drooled over the forums at other peoples interiors however dearest wifey laughed when I showed her the prices in the catalogue so I thought I was doomed to cloth and plastic. Not to be deterred however and a great believer in the saying "How can it be?" I thought I'd give it a go but I should probably point out that I have never done this before.

My real inspiration came when I saw this on the other forum and wanted it! So first things first, strip out the old. I wont put a how to in as there are enough out there and I read/followed most of them.

Next was the dash prep, I decided to strip off all the old plastic as I thought it might end up to bulky to just go straight over the top of the old one. This left some pretty deep gashes and score marks in the foam which I filled with expanding foam and filler which was filed and cut to shape.

I had also originally intended to integrate a screen so took out the dash vents and began shaping it, the idea was to extend the binical over to the middle of the dash so it would look OEM. Unfortunately my little one smashed my screen (and few other bits) with a hammer (bless him :spank: ) . It wasn't really a huge deal I just decided to put a shelf in instead. You'll notice the shelf changes shape throughout the project.

I also took out some of the curves and simplified the shape around passenger side, I thought it would make life easier but in hindsight it wouldn't have made a difference.