Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

AUTO GEARBOX MYSTERY DRIVING ME CRAZY AND BROKE 13 years 4 months ago #19372

My 2001 mgf AUTO has a problem ie it stays in a low gear while cold and wont go into sports mode etc untill after 5 to 10 miles driving then performs as normal with sports etc..whilst cold when i halt it judders and pulls forward in a very uncomfortable fashion. i am advised its the actuator control and pulleys and been quoted £2000 for repair. Find this excessive can anyone advise i am only a driver thats feeling very lost ;o(( Money doesnt come as easy as it goes ? Any advise appreciated..

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re: AUTO GEARBOX MYSTERY DRIVING ME CRAZY AND BROKE 13 years 4 months ago #19375

not sure if its a related thing but may be relavent due to the time of year?......

stepspeed gearbox warning light- Some advice Quicksilver;9895 wrote:

At this time of year there are a rash of Stepspeed owners contacting their local garage because the gearbox warning light keeps coming on. Usual scenario is start car as usual, light comes on and either extingushes after a few minutes or stays on until engine is stopped and restarted when it resets and seems fine. Usually the car goes to the garage for diagnostics and shows no fault and garage recommend an oil change "just to be on the safe side", which cures the problem as if by magic.This fault is caused by water vapour from the atmosphere condensing in the gearbox and shorting one of the sensors, and is easily cured. Take the car for a longish run 30 to 50 miles and keep the gearbox in sport mode, this keeps the revs above 3000 and ensures that the engine and gearbox get hot. This will boil off the water and clear the fault - SIMPLES:) Using this simple process will clear gearbox faults 9 times out of 10 without resorting to expense.

oh and welcome to the forum!!!!!!!
Chris
The following user(s) said Thank You: David Aiketgate

Last edit: Post by phil-hex.