Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Electric window switches 5 years 1 month ago #189659

Hi folks I am a newbie to the site , & having acquired a tidy low miles '99 MGF ,back end of last year , looking forward to summer, but wondering if anyone has made a modification to the electric window switches ?
I'm changing the door cards along with some other cabin upgrades and seriously considering re siting the switches just in front of the door grabs in the door cards, which imo' would be easier to access than on the centre console behind the gear stick?? .....anybody try this ?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Electric window switches 5 years 1 month ago #189660

If you were to relocate the window lift switche to the doors you would need 1 switch on the passenger side and 2 switches on the drivers side, one to control the drivers window and one to contol the passengers window.
This would add considerable complexity to the wiring.
Not being able to control the passenger window from the driving position negates the great advantage of power windows, that is the ability of the driver to adjust all the windows whilst driving.

Having said that if your not afraid of a bit of electrical spaghetti, go ahead....why not.
"Keep calm, relax, focus on the problem & PULL THE BLOODY TRIGGER"

Electric window switches 5 years 1 month ago #189661