Sign In   Register
  • Page:

Topic

Turning over but no ignition 9 years 5 months ago #152145

Hi

This is my first time posting here as I'm new to the MG family. I bought a 2000 MGF X-reg in March this year and have slowly been restoring her to her former glory. She has been running fine for the past few months until Sunday when she just refused to start. She is turning over but won't start. I've been doing some research and came to the conclusion it was the immobilisor and Key fob being out of sync. So, after purchasing a new battery, following the re-sync instructions and trying again, she still won't start. I've checked the spark plugs (which are brand new) and the leads (also new) as well as the fuel intake (there is fuel going through, you can smell it when ticking over) and I'm stumped. I've looked on the forums but can't see anything similar being written about this. Any ideas? Or if you know the problem and a fix?

Thanks in advance :)

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by David Aiketgate.

Ticking over but no ignition 9 years 5 months ago #152147

:welcome2:
The first thing we need to find out is what version of engine and engine management is it? Does it have a distributor, or coilpacks on top of the plugs? Is it a VVC or mpi? Does it have a timing belt at each end of the engine or just the offside?

Next question is where are you? There may be someone nearby who could assist.
David
:shrug:

Ticking over but no ignition 9 years 5 months ago #152150

It's a 1.8 mpi. I'm not sure about the distributor or coilpack over sparks, but there is only one belt on the offside.

Sorry I'm not too helpful, this is my first car, so I'm learning as I go.

I'm in the Braintree area.

Thanks

Ticking over but no ignition 9 years 5 months ago #152151

Ok.
Does it have 4 plug leads that come from the nearside of the engine and disappear under the top cover of the engine?